Ph.D. Candidate Content https://geography.ucdavis.edu/ Ph.D. Candidate Content for geography en Mariah Coley https://geography.ucdavis.edu/people/mariah-coley <p><span>Agriculture, water management, natural resources management, ecosystem services, international development</span></p> June 26, 2018 - 7:41am carriear https://geography.ucdavis.edu/people/mariah-coley Maya Weeks https://geography.ucdavis.edu/people/maya-weeks <h3>Summary Academic Interest: </h3> <p>Oceans, waste, logistics, gender, environmental justice, climate change, political ecology, political economy. Current research focuses on marine debris as a form of capital accumulation and gendered and racialized violence.</p> <h3>Education: </h3> <p>BA/BS in: Language Studies (Spanish)<br /> School received BA/BS: University of California, Santa Cruz<br /> School received MA/MS: MFA Poetry, Mills College</p> April 27, 2018 - 1:55pm Paul Min https://geography.ucdavis.edu/people/maya-weeks Alberto Valdivia https://geography.ucdavis.edu/people/alberto-valdivia <h3>Summary Academic Interest: </h3> <p>The environmental changes for sustainability demand the involvement, the inclusion, the consciousness, and the diversity of all walks of life. I research indigenous food wisdom as a way of achieving greater sustainability by critiquing neoliberalism and embedded white privilege. I employ a Xicana eco-feminist lens as a way of decolonizing our diets.</p> April 27, 2018 - 1:45pm Paul Min https://geography.ucdavis.edu/people/alberto-valdivia Stacie Townsend https://geography.ucdavis.edu/people/stacie-townsend <h3>Summary Academic Interest: </h3> <p>GeoHumanities; Social, Political, and Activist Geographies; Place-Creation and Cultural Landscapes; Western U.S. and California; Geographic Education</p> <h3>Education: </h3> <p>2011: M.A., Geography, California State University, Long Beach<br /> 2008: B.A., Sociology (emph. Comparative Studies and World Development), University of California, Davis</p> April 27, 2018 - 1:40pm Paul Min https://geography.ucdavis.edu/people/stacie-townsend Victoria Torres Gonzalez https://geography.ucdavis.edu/people/victoria-gonzalez <h3>Summary Academic Interest: </h3> <p><span><span>My research focuses on the understanding of eating practices and other types of inequalities around food consumption in urban areas.</span></span></p> <p> </p> April 27, 2018 - 1:38pm Paul Min https://geography.ucdavis.edu/people/victoria-gonzalez Zhehan Tang https://geography.ucdavis.edu/people/zhehan-tang <h3>Summary Academic Interest: </h3> <p>Using remote sensing in precision agriculture</p> <h3>Education: </h3> <p>BS in Agricultural Science (Cornell University)</p> April 27, 2018 - 1:34pm Paul Min https://geography.ucdavis.edu/people/zhehan-tang Jennifer Sedell https://geography.ucdavis.edu/people/jennifer-sedell <h3>Summary Academic Interest: </h3> <p>Political ecology and environmental history of natural resource management and food networks. Current research focus areas include emergency pest management programs in California and global salt commodity chains.</p> <h3>Education: </h3> <p>M.S. in Community and Regional Development, University of California, Davis (expected 2013) B.A., summa cum laude, in Geography, University of Oregon (2003)</p> April 27, 2018 - 1:30pm Paul Min https://geography.ucdavis.edu/people/jennifer-sedell Robert Saper https://geography.ucdavis.edu/people/robert-saper <h3>Summary Academic Interest: </h3> <p>I am interested in social movements and social change processes affecting the life conditions of marginalized and socio-economically disadvantaged populations. My research emphasizes the role of human mobility and the geographic application of social theory in understanding and addressing the problem of increasing global inequality. I am also interested in human geographic applications of GIS</p> April 27, 2018 - 1:29pm Paul Min https://geography.ucdavis.edu/people/robert-saper Nicholas Robinson https://geography.ucdavis.edu/people/nicholas-robinson <h3>Summary Academic Interest: </h3> <p>Political ecology of agriculture and food systems, global commodity chains, and extractive industries; small farms, beginner farmers, and appropriate farm technology; sustainable landscape and infrastructure design; agroecology and regenerative agriculture; cooperative governance and labor organization; land and resource conflict; energy production; environmental justice; social movements; utopia; arctic agriculture; Iceland; Latin America.</p> April 27, 2018 - 1:25pm Paul Min https://geography.ucdavis.edu/people/nicholas-robinson Mina Rezaei https://geography.ucdavis.edu/people/mina-rezaei <h3>Summary Academic Interest: </h3> <p>Teenagers and their environment, Participatory urban planning, Sustainable planning , Public Spaces ,Social aspects of urban planning , Representation of Cities in Creative works(novels, films, etc.).</p> <h3>Education: </h3> <p>BA/BS in: Urban Planning<br /> School received BA/BS: University of Tehran<br /> School received MA/MS: University of Tehran</p> April 27, 2018 - 1:20pm Paul Min https://geography.ucdavis.edu/people/mina-rezaei